“These are great seats!!!” “Does y’Mum know your here?”

Image

Six sleeps.

I said yesterday that I’d let you in on why I haven’t blogged in a while.

Well, to be blunt and honest – I didn’t feel the ‘dialogical’ love that I was looking for.  I’ve come to realize that this is a common reality for bloggers.  Follow some blogs and you’ll notice that there are not very many comments offered by those who read a blogger’s thoughts, hopes and dreams.

I was beginning to feel that people were continuing to encourage me to ‘be vulnerable’, show more, say more, talk more… but I wasn’t receiving that from my audience.  And I’m the same way.  I scan through several blogs over the week and I can’t remember the last time I made a ‘contribution’.  I valued reading it.  Found it thought-provoking.  Disagreed a little.  Laughed or was touched by its content.  But I didn’t say a word.  I passed it by.

I’ve begun to wonder if this isn’t one of the challenges that we have in the Christian Church today.  We have a few who say a lot and a whole lot of people who don’t say much at all.  Sometimes, those who say a lot are egged on… and feel encouraged to say more.  And they are happy to oblige.  And maybe we in the Church do agree with their loud, well articulated, Scriptural edged positions.  Or maybe we don’t.  Many people love watching a tennis match… and those who shout from the mountain tops play a mean game.  But is it right to assume that those in the valley agree with one or the other mountain?  I don’t hear enough to know either way.

We are spectators.  The Church loves spectators.  Church buildings are designed for spectators.  And the Church trains ‘entertainers’ – those skilled in forming and presenting a ‘position’.  A hermeneutic is the word that they like better.  It sounds less vulgar.  And this has gone pretty well for the Church over the centuries.

But how is it working for us today?  I’d suggest not too well.  Our spectators desire more interaction… more stimulation.  Less of one talking but valuing the contribution of many others.  Facebook, Wikipedia, blogs, Justin Bieber, YouTube, Twitter, etc… speaks to this kind of phenomena.  But what is interesting to me is that instead of deciding to wrestle with this shift in culture within the Church.  Most have decided to check out.  To walk away.  To leave without saying a word.  To pass by this “Church thing”… but every so often to check in on the ‘loudest’ of us to see if we have changed much at all.  And the media is so helpful in creating that stage for our ‘entertainers’ to perform.

Somehow, I think we need to create more opportunities for spectators to become participants.  It will require a radical transformation of our structures, traditions, perhaps even our worship spaces and bulletins (heaven forbid!).  And we may need to shift our focus from training entertainers to facilitators – stewards of some knowledge and wisdom but whose curiosity to engage others in plumbing the depths of their spiritual wells outweighs everything else in their toolkit.

But these are just my thoughts… I’ve had the privilege of spectating from ‘court side seats’ for some time now.  The bigger question for me – and maybe for you – is do I have the courage to let those seats go and work on changing the game?

About borthwick4moderator

Standing for Moderator of the 138th General Assembly of The Presbyterian Church in Canada
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “These are great seats!!!” “Does y’Mum know your here?”

  1. As a fellow blogger, I can attest to the fact that there are all kinds of people who read, but don’t comment (but here I am!). That said, our culture has become conversational–it seems that everyone wants to add their two cents. The weather network has a way for viewers to add their videos and newpapers encourage discussion among their readers via their website. We even know a preacher who has encouraged his congregation to text him during the sermon so that he can display their comments and respond. But while the world is moving in that direction, you are quite right that the church remains designed for spectators. While I have no desire for us to move in the direction of taIk radio (which I can’t bear), I am going to think more about that.

    • Thanks bloomingreverend… I’ve thought about using Twitter during a sermon… so that even people who are not in worship could perhaps comment. If the Church could get enough followers. It is good to know that others are thinking about this kind of stuff. It will take a few brave souls to risk to make the kind of changes that may need to happen if we hope to be relevant at all in this century.

  2. Geoff Ross says:

    John, just to show you that there are voices in the void, I thought I’d write to say I agree. The problem is as much with form as it is tradition; meaning the didactic tradition of preaching to a passive congregation – a one way conversation unless the congregation is in the habit of heckling – combined with the physical layout of row upon rows of pews facing forward that force the congregant to sit staring at the minister with their mouths slightly agape as if they were being spoon fed, has created and perpetuated an infantalized membership – not the type who would wrestle with and engage in theological debates. To overcome this we need to bridge the divide between pulpit and pew – and even amongst those within the pews. The simplest way to do this is, sadly seemingly the hardest thing for us to do, and that is to actually communicate with each other. And, in my experience, communication happens in communities that talk to, not at or past, each other.

    Sleep well, brother. Either way, will I see you at GA?

  3. Almost left without making a comment. I too am struggling with how to be faithful in an era that communicates differently. No deep thoughts yet.

Leave a comment